Anti-education employers

September 8, 2014 at 9:39 am (Rant, Thinking)


Here is a situation I find myself in. I’ve been told (multiple times) where I work that my masters degree is irrelevant. It apparently doesn’t factor into my wages and it doesn’t translate to “years of experience”. Now, if you are fresh out of school you might understand this as it happens to plenty of people. My problem is that I have multiple years of experience and I’m not “fresh out of university”.

In two years of working here, I’ve been the only one in my office to give the company patent applications for original ideas; by this I mean patents that aren’t related to the office codebase. Some of the software we’ve worked on has been very academic in nature, and I’ve been one of the few to volunteer to thoroughly understand how it works. I’ve also been asked to work with a product manager to design new features to increase revenue for the company.

Of course, none of that can be attributed to being more educated though… School is for suckers I guess.

For those who are considering extending their stay in post-secondary, you might want to figure out what your plan is. There are definitely employers out that that value education and will see what it can do for them, but be prepared for the opposite. Keep in mind that being educated does not make you instantly know how to do things (and do them right), it’s something meant to augment your existing talent and help shape your thinking; practical experience will always be required, but it’s not difficult to get.

2 Comments

  1. Scott said,

    • jestermax said,

      You’re not wrong. I still think it’s a stupid thing when you think of it this way: Would you prefer the guys building your car’s Anti-lock brake control system have Masters degrees? What about the software developers implementing the online payment system that accesses your bank account?

Leave a Reply

