Zombie Mansion: Alpha Build 1!

June 23, 2014 at 2:54 pm (Computer Science, Game Development, Games, Java, JavaScript, Processing, Programming, Rant) (, , , , , , , )


So I’ve finally gotten a build of the game working! I can’t post it yet for a variety of reasons, but I’ve sent the build out to some people to try it. It’s mostly to verify that the game works as expected and is stable. It just features the level I showed in the previous videos and a couple of extra smaller areas.

Last Saturday night I had a few panic moments when the builds weren’t working as expected. I had an issue where the resource unpacker code I wrote wasn’t actually unpacking the images from the compressed assembly; it turns out it was still trying to load them from the local directory. The issue has since been fixed thanks to all of the logging architecture I recently put in. There’s still several areas that could use more logging, but there’s enough now to sort out common issues.

Another bug that logging helped uncover was with the asset manager system. I have code that manages any images and ensures you only load one copy into memory. This helps to keep a cap on the memory usage of the software as a whole. However, there was an issue where I had slashes in the reference indices that were going the wrong way! This is a pretty common issue with programming to be honest. Devs frequently write code for their own system and then find out that nothing works on other computers or operating systems. Thankfully, the logging system helped uncover the fact that it was double loading certain resources.

Now if I could just muster the effort to change the spelling mistake I made with naming the logging variables…

Leave a Reply

