Zombie Mansion: Updates and screenshots!

November 13, 2013 at 6:32 pm (Games, Processing, Programming, Video games) (, , , , , , , , )


Yay! Screenshots! I’ve finally had some motivation to post some stuff on my project that isn’t 6 months old. I got a little side tracked with events and stuff, so I’ve been busy and unmotivated. Anyway, I’ve solved the issue I was complaining about in my last post, or at least I have a workaround for it, so it looks nice again. Also, I’ve been using Artisy: Draft for piecing together level designs and other stuff. It makes it a bit easier when I go to make levels in my editor if I have a fancy map telling me where to put stuff.

Anyway, here are some animated GIFs of my “game” right now. Note that they don’t really look right due to the GIF making process I’m using. For example, the animations and movements look really glitchy (and the particle effects die out) because the framerate dies when I record a GIF with the library I’m using. Also, the levels depicted in the GIFs are not finished and polished, so the floors look awkward, etc.

Basic room spin

Basic room spin

Shooting a zombie

Shooting a zombie

Pushing furniture

Pushing furniture

2 Comments

  1. penne said,

    is the paper donkey engine open source? i would like to use it

    • jestermax said,

      Unfortunately, it is not at this point in time. As you can see, it can do lots of really neat things, but the codebase just isn’t at production level yet since it was just a pet project of mine. After some though, I’ve concluded that I wouldn’t be comfortable yet with release a game or letting someone else do it using this engine. My reasoning is that it takes a lot of work to build a game, and I would hate to see a game fail because of an engine glitch. Once I do some more stability fixes and take the engine code a bit more seriously though, this will definitely change. I get the feeling that a lot of people would be interested in this style of game.

Leave a Reply

