Ascension: Chronicle of the Godslayer Board Game Review

July 2, 2013 at 1:54 pm (Board games, Games) (, , , , , , , , )


So I had an impulse buy last weekend; I bought a new deckbuilding game; Ascension. While I haven’t had time to thoroughly test the game in-depth and appreciate or be irritated by the finer points, I feel like I’ve played it enough to make a judgement on the game. At least I feel confident enough to make an “overview judgement”.

First Impressions

The game comes in a somewhat multi-textured box. By this I mean, some parts are smooth and some have the criss-cross, plaid texture that games like Elder Sign has. It’s a little unusual that there are different parts, but whatever. Right now I feel like complaining that the box was bent when I bought it, so this is a reminder to always examine board game boxes before you purchase the game. The art on the box (and the rest of the game for that matter) isn’t low quality or anything. It is stylized, but overall it kind of felt unpolished. It is good, but not quite up to the quality of some of the art of many of the Magic: The Gathering cards.

The quality of the cards is fairly lacking. They are thin and easy to damage, so depending on how much you enjoy the game, you might want to purchase some card protectors. The downside to doing this however, is that it makes it very difficult to keep the cards in the tall stack necessary to play the game. Related to this, the game box has a section with ridges obviously meant to house and separate subsets of the cards. However, similar to the Resident Evil Deckbuilding Game, they fail at succeeding at this. The sections are too small to hold the cards and will bend/warp them if you try to jam them in. Thankfully there are two card “pits” in the box that make it simple enough to store everything.

Gameplay

The game plays out very similar to other deck building games. I would say it is closer to Resident Evil than Dominion though. Instead of a large set of cards that you can always choose from, you have a set of 3 cards that remain constant. Then there is a flop of 6 cards that you can purchase or battle, but the selection will change as cards are removed or purchased. This adds an element of strategy and luck as you will have different options available to you than the previous and next players will. Ultimately you are trying to collect more “honour” than the other players, but there are multiple ways you can do this (adding replayability). You can obtain honour points by either defeating monsters/bad guys, or you can get it by purchasing cards that are worth honour (tallied up at the end of the game).

There are two resources in the game: runes and fight. Runes let you buy resource cards to add to your deck, and Fight lets you battle monsters, which doesn’t add cards to your deck, but you typically will gain honour or other effects. I’ve only played this game a limited number of times so far, but it has become apparent that it is bad to focus solely on one resource. I attempted to only collect Rune resources so I could buy all the powerful cards, but then had my opponent kill monsters that had effects that crippled me to the point where I could not recover.

On the note of winning or losing games, it is not clear who is ahead unless you are closely watching who buys which cards. I won a couple games by making sure I purchased very high value cards instead of buying a bunch of cheaper cards. That being said, I lost a particularly gruesome game because my opponent defeated certain monsters that made me lose my high value cards. What a sad day.

Summary

This game was surprisingly fun. The randomized nature of the game gives it some good replayability. The game is simple and straightforward and the games seemed to go quickly and not drag on. It had a somewhat low price tag as well, so I feel like it was totally worth the money instead of feeling like I was just paying for an IP license or getting ripped off. I look forward to playing the game more and possibly getting one of the expansions for it.

 

Leave a Reply

