Game Engine Updates: Feb 13, 2013

February 13, 2013 at 11:45 pm (Uncategorized)


I’ll post screenshots in a few days probably, but for now I’ll just post the changes I’ve made. I’ve implemented the one-sided walls I’ve been after for a while now. You can see them when they’re facing towards the room and they’re hidden when they would obscure the room.
Also, I added in floor triggers. This allows scripted events to occur based on the player’s position in the level. I should note though that there is a recent bug in JBox2D that is crippling this feature (with a crash). I’m hoping it will be fixed soon.
The last big, exciting change is the addition of a scripting UI interface. GUI widgets can be created and rendered using the scripting engine. It’s a small trade-off in rendering power I’m sure, but it offers a lot of flexibility, especially during the development process.

Leave a Reply

