Thesis Defended

March 15, 2012 at 3:31 pm (Computer Science, Games, Graphics, Programming, Unity) (, , , , , , )


So I defended my Master’s thesis last week. Things went very well and it was defended with some minor changes. While the would-be second publication I submitted based on it was not accepted at a conference (although the reviews seemed very silly and confused for the most part), I am more than happy that my master’s degree is almost done for good.
I still have to make the changes, but in the mean time I got to spend some time learning Unity. It is very exciting; in 3 days, I’ve learned plenty of the in’s and out’s of the engine and I’ve built a platformer game similar to the one I build in Processing (P5). I used the same graphics as the last post, and it supports the same actions as the other one, but it is 3D-ish. I wrote a billboard sprite manager so I can do 2D-in-3D stuff very easily. I’ve even added a fireball feature that shoots a projectile with a smoke trail. Here’s a screenshot: ignore the dancing skeleton in the background:

Leave a Reply

