Paper Donkey Engine

February 3, 2011 at 1:32 pm (Computer Science, Games, Graphics) (, , , , , , , , , )


So I haven’t posted in a very long time now, mostly due to me being busy with research and life. I have a few projects I want to post some stuff about though. One of them is the SpeedGame I created last September for a competition. It’s codenamed Paper Donkey and is essentially a 2D-in-3D engine I wrote in Processing. I had a teammate (Matt) for this project and so I made him do most of the game design and level creation aspect of it so that I could focus on engine coding. We didn’t really care about winning anything, but mostly just wanted the experience of working on a team to make a completed project.

The game we came up with itself was a little on the dull side. Due to time constraints, we had to trim the game mechanics to just a maze. That being said, I would consider it a huge success. I only really wanted to build an engine I could use to prototype games and I got what I wanted. The engine code is pretty nifty and it works great. There is a slight performance issue though since I do some pretty naive collision detection and other things like that. Also, a couple of the features ended up being really glitchy so I removed them from the levels.

The engine renders 2D sprites in a 3D perspective. So the level geometry is represented by floor and wall tiles while the characters are rendered as billboards that always face the camera. It has a pretty decent animation system, but no editor so the files have to be created by hand to specify animation sequences. The same goes for the levels because I didn’t bother to use my old map editor formats for this project. It has been a while since I’ve worked with the engine, so I’ll have to take a look at it in order to post more on the exact features of it, but it was a blast to make and use. It took about a week to build and a week to make the game on top of it.

<I will edit this post at a later time and add screenshots>

Leave a Reply

