Retrospect

July 17, 2009 at 11:44 pm (Uncategorized)


So after writing a program on a napkin to solve a puzzle at a Cracker Barrel restaurant in Michigan, I realized how different I am now.
During and after I finished college, I focused a lot on implementation and grunt work when it came to software development. I got a great job in development when I finished (thanks Jason), and I thought that the hardest part of programming was mastering an API.
Now that I’ve graduated from university with a degree, I think things have changed quite a bit. I didn’t really enjoy a lot of my time while I was there, but looking back I picked up a handful of new tricks. I didn’t used to appreciate things like algorithm analysis or calculus or linear algebra and now I end up thinking about this stuff on road trips. Weird, eh?

Leave a Reply

